PLACE OF WORK 510-50, boul. Maurice-Bastien, Wendake (and telework)
SCHEDULE 35 hours/week (flexible work hours)
STATUS Regular full-time employment
SALARY Competitive salary within the salary range in effect
SOCIAL BENEFITS Group insurance, pension plan, summer working hours


Under the supervision of the Executive Director, the Development Advisor will, broadly speaking, plan, organize and carry out activities related to the development of the Indigenous tourism industry and the improvement of the tourism experiences and services offered to Indigenous Tourism Quebec (ITQ) members. He/she will support tourism entrepreneurs especially in the start-up and development phases of various projects.


  • Provide assistance to Indigenous tourism entrepreneurs in their various development stages (pre-startup, start-up, expansion, consolidation, business succession, etc.).
  • Support Indigenous tourism entrepreneurs in the development of business plans and in the preparation of applications for financial assistance.
  • Inform and support Indigenous tourism entrepreneurs regarding the various assistance programs available and guide them towards the appropriate resources.
  • Develop and leverage relationships with regional, national and international partners.
  • Collaborate with fellow partners of the association to develop and improve products and services and organize activities based on action plans and memoranda of understanding.
  • Work with ITQ members to develop new experiences and services that meet Indigenous tourism guidelines.
  • Organize training and knowledge development activities to meet the needs of ITQ members.
  • Collaborate in the implementation of ITQ’s five-year action plan including activities, programs, initiatives, strategies and vision for the development and improvement of Indigenous products and services in Quebec.
  • Collaborate with the Communication and Marketing Agent to produce newsletters, write promotional articles, prepare media kits for journalists, issue press releases, etc.
  • Represent ITQ from time to time at events (e.g., regional events, launches, trade shows, galas).
  • Participate in the management of financial resources allocated to his/her department.
  • Any other related tasks deemed relevant by the Executive Director or Operations Manager.


Education and experience

  • University education in a field related to economic development, tourism, Indigenous studies or any other relevant discipline.
  • 3 years of experience in the tourism, economic or Indigenous development fields.

Skill set

  • Experience related to knowledge of the tourism industry, financing, management consulting in entrepreneurship would be an asset.
  • Excellent analytical and communication skills; initiative-driven, motivated and attentive to detail.
  • Be aware of the context of Indigenous communities in Quebec and possess skills related to a culturally relevant approach.
  • Ability to work with multidisciplinary teams and to share ideas.
  • High proficiency in the MS Office suite.
  • Bilingual imperative (English and French).

Soft skills

  • Independent, organized, creative, show leadership, flexible, proactive, customer-focused and driven to improve continuously.


Please send your cover letter and résumé to Patricia Auclair, ITQ Operations Manager.

By email only:
[email protected]

Please specify the email subject line as follows: Application for Development Advisor

*Given equal skills, an Indigenous applicant shall be considered on a priority basis for this position. Only candidates selected for an interview will be contacted.

Board of Directors

Indigenous Tourism Québec is proud to be able to benefit from the contribution, expertise and cultural richness of a board of directors representative of the First Nations of Quebec and the various sectors of activity supported by our industry. The board of directors is made up of 9 seats: 5 seats reserved for active members, 2 seats for delegate members and 2 seats for associate members.


Steeve Gros-Louis, Active member | Restaurant La Sagamité


Kalika Sinnett, Active member | Micmac Interpretation Site of Gespeg


Marc Plourde,  Associate member | Fédération des pourvoiries du Québec


Michelle Picard, Delegate member | Société de crédit commercial autochtone


Kimberly Cross, Active member | Kahnawà:ke Tourism

Robert Lancup, Associate member | Office du tourisme de Québec

Josée Leblanc, Active member | Atikuss Canada

Sean McDonagh, Active member | Aventures Inuit

Robin McGinley, Delegate member | Cree Outfitting and Tourism Association